Your body is capable of amazing things: it’s your mind you have to convince.

Mission Possible

A friend of mine has a blog, which tracked her progress from couch to saddle and is now following her journey to her first triathalon.  I found her progress and achievements to be inspirational – imagine my surprise then when she said the best bit is the reading and blogging!

The surprise lasted all of 30 seconds before I realised that that’s exactly what I’d been doing too.

Now I’m finally ready to make that leap from couch to, well, the middle of the living room.  After I’ve written a blog, that is!

Where it all began…

When I was 16, I was a tubby, bespectacled, braced, lonely little thing.  One day, I decided to do something about it.  Within 2 months (August 30th), I’d shed 1st and was basking in the glory of my success.  By Christmas I’d shed a further 1st and was beginning to panic about whether or not I could stop the weight from coming off – oh how I laugh now to think of it!  By my 17th birthday, I was proudly wearing size S from H&M and was about to meet face-to-face the lad who would become my first boyfriend.

Fast forward 11 years.  The boyfriend is long gone, replaced by a wonderful man to whom I have been happily married for nearly 3 years.  In the two years we were together prior to our wedding, I’d put on 1st.  “You’ll be fat and happy now!” joked a friend of mine on my wedding day.  “Haha, not if I can help it!”  I smiled back.

How wrong I was.

I am indeed blissfully happy.  We have great careers, a beautiful albeit rented home, and a wonderful circle of friends.  Where I was wrong was the fat bit.  My husband and I have been together for nearly 7 years and in that time I’ve gained 3st.  That’s an average of 6lbs of “happiness” per year.  Yikes!  I’m now back to the tubby weight I was as a shy 16 year old – the one voted least likely to get a man in the VI form year book.  Despite trying lots of diets and exercise regimes, I’ve never been able to recreate the success of my teens. My self esteem is decreasing at roughly double the pace my waistline ( and thigh line and hip line and butt line and arm line) is increasing.

It’s time for a change.

A friend introduced me to Pinterest – I was instantly hooked and created a “secret board” which I named “Mission Possible”.  It’s now 3 months later and I’ve pinned 90 things to do with weight loss and improving fitness.  I think I’ve done all the research I reasonably can from my couch/bed/chair/coffee shop and now it’s time to begin.  So here I am at the start of my mission, ready to embark publicly on an adventure.  The thing about Pinterest is that it’s got lots of good ideas but you need to test them for yourself to see if they actually work.  Therefore I’ll road-test some of the most interesting ones and report back on progress!

Hopefully if people choose to read this blog they will find it honest, hopefully entertaining (please laugh with me!) and above all useful.  Maybe it will give you that sense that you’re not alone in the battle of the bulge, no matter how little bulge you have to battle.

My body is ready and waiting; my mind is, just about, ready to give it a go.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

